Timeline | Local people | Maps | John Dee

  • 925
    Barnes given to Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s by King Athelstan

  • 1086
    Domesday Book records the manor of Mortlake as having land sufficient for 35 ploughs and the smaller manor of Barnes enough for six ploughs.

  • 1206
    King John visits the manor at Mortlake. The manor house, on the older part of the brewery site, was in the possession of the Archbishops of Canterbury from the 11th to the 16th centuries.

  • 1348
    Archbishop John Stratford granted a licence to build a chapel on a piece of ground in Berecroft for “the tenants of Estshene and Mortelak, who are far distance from their parish church”

  • 1415
    Death of Sir William de Milbourne whose house stood opposite Barnes Pond on the site of the present Milbourne House

  • 1536
    Archbishop Thomas Cranmer gives the Manor of Mortlake to Henry VIII who grants it to Thomas Cromwell

  • 1538
    Thomas Cromwell orders all parish churches to keep registers of baptisms, marriages and burials

  • 1543
    Henry VIII grants the Manor of Mortlake to his sixth wife, Katherine Parr. He retains the manor house for his own use

  • 1543
    Henry orders Mortlake Parish Church to be moved from the manor house to its present site

  • 1554
    Thomas Wyatt is executed for treason following a rebellion against Mary Tudor. His freehold of Milbourne House reverts to the Crown

  • 1566
    John Dee comes to Mortlake

  • 1580
    Barm Elms estate is acquired by Elizabeth I who grants it to Sir Francis Walsingham

  • 1619
    Tapestry works opens at Mortlake

  • 1637
    Richmond Park is enclosed including 732 acres of Mortlake

  • 1660
    Restoration of monarchy. Barn Elms restored to St.Paul’s

  • 1665
    Plague! 200 die in Mortlake; 18 in Barnes

  • 1703
    Kit Cat Club moves to a house on the Barn Elms estate

  • 1703
    Mortlake Tapestry works close

  • 1720
    Large houses start to be built on Barnes Terrace

  • 1758
    Barnes poorhouse is converted to a workhouse

  • 1776
    Thames freezes over at Mortlake

  • 1778
    New workhouse erected in Queen’s Ride

  • 1827
    First Hammersmith Bridge opens

  • 1828
    William Cobbett leases Barn Elms Farm

  • 1831
    Cholera outbreak in Mortlake

  • 1845
    First University Boat Race on the Putney to Mortlake course

  • 1846
    Railway comes to Barnes and Mortlake

  • 1849
    Barnes railway bridge opens

  • 1884
    Ranelagh Club moves to Barn Elms

  • 1887
    New Hammersmith Bridge opens

  • 1888
    Cowan’s sugar works, on the site of Harrod’s depository, is destroyed by fire

  • 1892
    Richmond takes over 329 acres (North Sheen) from Mortlake

  • 1894
    Barnes and Mortlake combine to form Barnes Urban District Council

  • 1906
    First motorised bus service from Mortlake and Barnes to London

  • 1928
    Foundation stone of All Saints Church is laid by the Duchess of York, later Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother

  • 1932
    Barnes becomes a borough (including Mortlake and East Sheen)

  • 1933
    Chiswick Bridge opens

  • 1955
    Barnes and Mortlake History Society founded

  • 1965
    Barnes and Mortlake become part of the new London Borough of Richmond-upon-Thames

  • 1968
    St Paul’s School moves to Lonsdale Road, Barnes

  • 1978
    St Mary’s Church, Barnes is gutted by fire

  • 1993
    Barn Elms reservoirs close; Wildfowl Sanctuary opens on site in 2000

  • 2014
    Mortlake Brewery’s last brew before closing