In Charlotte Fell Smith’s book John Dee (1909) she describes the house:
It was a rambling place standing west of the church between it and the river. Dee added to it by degrees, purchasing small tenements adjoining so that at length it comprised laboratories for his experiments, libraries and rooms for a busy hive of workers and servants. Mrs Dee occupied a set of rooms of her own.
After Dee’s death the house passed through an interesting phase of existence, being adapted by Sir Francis Crane for the Royal Tapestry Works. At the end of the 18th century a large panelled room with red and white roses carved and coloured was still in existence.
Early in the 19th century the house was used as a girls’ school.
Nothing of the house exists today, beyond a garden wall that separates the churchyard from modern flats, appropriately called ‘John Dee House’.
John Dee is believed to be buried in the chancel of the original 1543 church, between two servants of the Queen, Edward Myles and Anthony Holt. A lion, as part of his coat of arms (see left) is among various devices on the wooden panelling in the chancel of the church.